More of Kew Protected by Conservation Area Status


The borough has a strong reputation for protecting the environment, and the Council has just designated / extended 4 further conservation areas in the borough. There are now a total of 75 conservation areas established that help to protect and promote the borough’s history and natural scenery.

Conservation areas are special groups of buildings or areas designated for their architectural quality. They ensure that extra emphasis is given to their special character, history and development, and also to their preservation or enhancement when making decisions on planning applications or other development proposals that could impact an area.

During the Village Planning process in Kew and elsewhere, residents expressed a desire to further protect certain areas from unsuitable development. New conservation areas have now come into effect and include:
· Parts of Sandycombe Road (Kew) – this is an extension to Kew Gardens Conservation Area No.15.
· Burlington Avenue, Beechwood Avenue; West Park Road; North Road; (Kew)
· Ruskin Avenue, part Defoe Avenue (Kew)

Maps of the new/extended conservation areas can be found here.

In addition, the Council has a Local Register of Buildings of Townscape Merit (BTM) featuring buildings and structures of local townscape, architectural or historic importance. Currently, there are over 12,000 properties on the register, ranging from shops, churches, public buildings, war memorials and railway buildings. If there are planning proposals affecting a BTM, it will need to be ensured that the architectural or historic interest is maintained. Although the list of BTMs has been developed over many years, the Council continues to identify further buildings for protection, often with suggestions from local amenity groups. Following a consultation, the Council has added a significant number of additional properties to the register, including Kew.

A full list of new properties and changes to the local register of BTMs can be found here.